Ok, so I've been playing guitar for almost two years now, and I've never had a problem with any sort of pain (whether it be in my shoulder, wrist, etc.)
Recently I started working on my picking technique, because I noticed that I was anchoring with my wrist.
Anyways, since I've been picking normally my shoulder has started to hurt ALOT lately, and it's almost numb right now, not good.
And so I figured its cause it must be because I'm tensing up my shoulder, so I've been trying to relax my shoulder, but when I do, my hand isn't over the strings, if I relax my arm like that my pick ends up over the higher frets of the fretboard.
I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do but I don't want to fuck my shoulder up.
So is it my posture/form, what's going on here.
I think you guys are lost, the Pit's up there^^.

Anyways, I wack it with my left hand (I switched over from my right hand when I heard it improves your dexterity), and it's my right shoulder that hurts. So you guys lose.
Fap less.

Nah, it could be that you're raising it a little too high; do you place the guitar on your right leg? If so, may I recommend the classical position?
If you play guitar, please don't waste your time in The Pit, and please instead educate yourself in the Musician Talk forum, where you can be missing out on valuable info.
Quote by DiminishedFifth
It's like you read my mind!

I got meself a self-approving sig. Kick. Ass.
Quote by SilverDark
Fap less.

Nah, it could be that you're raising it a little too high; do you place the guitar on your right leg? If so, may I recommend the classical position?

yeah on the right leg. and i dont really wanna do the classical position i find it uncomfortable and it's unrealistic because i would never be able to play withthat kind of attack standing up.
ya dig?