Well, lately, for around the past week, i havent had a single bit of motivation to play my guitar. I have been playing for 3 months, not a few riffs, but don't know one single song, never really got to finishing it. Anyone of u ever been in that situation, where you just have no motivation to play? i have played, just practicing a few scales, doing some random stuff, improvising with songs (i do that often now a days), but nothing that really helped me. My skill hasn't gone up at all, and im just in a rut.

Post if you ever were in my positions (or not), and perhaps give a few suggestions.

*Prepares flame suit*
What kind of music do you play?
Peavey 6505+
Fender Hot Rod Deville 410
Fender Telecaster Blacktop
Gretsch G5120
i was, and if you keep trying to play everyday, then you'll get better. It does take a really long time, and i think every player has that phase in their learning wherer it seems hopeless. My best advice to you is learn any songs that you really like and just do anything to keep the guitar in your hands if you really like playing. The more you play, the more new things you'll discover.
Listen to your favorite type of music, and step up to the bat and challenge your self to learn the kind of music you like, or something months ago you though, "NO WAY!"
Quote by breakdown123
Is there such a thing as a heavy riff with out chugging on the e string?
I've had spells of low motivation before. In those times, don't practice scales or whatnot. Just... play whatever the hell you want to You should just play for pure enjoyment in those times. It boosts your morale right up there.
Equipment:
- Art & Lutherie Cedar CW (SOLD! )
- Martin D-16RGT w/ LR Baggs M1 Active Soundhole Pickup
- Seagull 25th Anniversary Flame Maple w/ LR Baggs Micro EQ

Have an acoustic guitar? Don't let your guitar dry out! Click here.
I learned easy easy fun songs.

Like nirvana and blink 182 stuff.

And recently I've been ska-punking popular rap songs, it's fun.
Peavey 6505+