I have been playing guitar for a couple of years now.
First of all I don't believe I hold my pick correctly, instead of bending my index finger I keep it straight but still use the side of it. I was wondering if this is still an OK technique to use.

I've also noticed I bend my wrist around so my thumb is angled towards me. I also plant my fingers on the guitar near the volume knob on my guitar (strat). When I try to turn my hand around and lift my fingers I lose all control of my hand and can't pick the strings correctly due to the pick being directly parallel with the string.

Sorry if this doesn't make much sense it is hard to explain

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
that's the same way i play except for the way you hold you pick instead i use the tip of my index and middle fingers while strumming and just the tip of my index while picking
]
Hey! Well, first of all, there is not real correct way to pick, just a common one..

Here are two examples for you, if you don't already know them Look and you'll see what I mean.

Paul Gilbert:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ES1RypBww_g

Marty Friedman:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVdyHs_IX1I

Just do what feels good to you, and if you cramp up (which I would do with your technique :P) stop doing that and do something that feel natural. For me.. I changed the way I pick from reversed (pick tilted backwards) to "normal", made pinch harmonics a lot easier, haha. Took me a month or two to switch, but I'm happy I did. But again, do what feels confortable, each guitar has a slightly different approach as well, I play an RG normally and I hold my hand a bit different when playing on a strat
Check out my band (epic folk/death metal) at www.amorgen.org and add us to your favorite social networks!

Gear:
Schecter Hellraiser C7
Ibanez RG 2620
ENGL Powerball 2
ENGL 2 x 12" PRO Slanted E212VH
TC Electronic G-major 2
Behringer FCB1010