Hey all.

I'm new to guitar. I started at the beginning of September. Basically I still suck. I can't play that well. But I know that I have a gear problem right now.

My current guitar is an Ibanez GRG 170DX. I like the guitar overall except for one problem. It does NOT stay in tune no matter what.

It's not a problem with the bridge - although the guitar has a floating bridge, I have locked it down and set this guitar up VERY nicely with a nice low action and almost no fret buzzing. But for some reason it's still extremely prone to going out of tune literally every 5 minutes. It drives me nuts. I have a feeling the tuners might just suck because I've lubed the nut and everything, the strings are stretched, etc.. The climate doesn't change in the room I play in either, so that's not it.

Anyway, I figure I need a new guitar that's going to stay in tune better, and I don't want to drop money into changing the tuners in an ibanez guitar that will never be worth more than $300 anyway..

I am thinking about a telecaster or maybe a les paul copy. My budget is pretty slim. I want to trade in my 170DX which is in near perfect condition (2 clear coat scratches on the back near the trem springs I made when I was setting up the trem tension..bleh) and I can throw in maybe 200$ or so in cash at the most. I'll be shopping in Tokyo around the Ochanomizu area or possibly Shibuya and I'm ok with used guitars too.

My style of music... I like a lot of 70's stuff such as The Guess Who (Think Bachman-Turner Overdrive kind of sound), Queen, a lot of Satriani's stuff, I also like the occasional country music and blues sound.

What do you folks recommend? Really, the most important thing to me is that the damn thing stays in tune, and it should be a decent guitar for the money I'll be throwing at it - at this point like $400 ish, with used being OK for me.

Any help appreciated big time.