Page 1 of 3
A small bit about me:
I suppose that as of 3 weeks ago I've been playing Guitar Hero for 1 year, starting from easy and now I play all the fun stuff on expert. Since I got a guitar 2 months ago I've been playing even more GH and focusing on more difficult stuff for longer periods of time trying to successfully improve finger strength (basically a fun way of making my pinky a manly pinky). GH opened my eyes how awesome guitar really is and a friend of mine who plays real guitar said if I can play GH on expert I should be able to get a grasp of how real guitar works with ease. (RIGHT GUYS? )

I'm making this thread to explain a little about my endeavors with the guitar and to ask more knowledgeable people if I'm on the right track as well as a decent amount of questions that have been on my min. SO..

I've been playing for about 2 months now. I have an Ibanez RG120 (holding a fender made me want to jump off a cliff) and a Spider III (because it's clearly the best amp in the world). My main interests are heavy metal, metalcore, and stuff that is basically fun to play. I enjoy bands such as Judas Priest, Metallica, Megadeth, Children of Bodom, Amon Amarth, and I could list other bands that may not really matter but this is the basic area of music I'm trying to learn towards.