I have been playing guitar since junior year of highschool, I'm in college now, so I guess that makes it 2 1/2 - 3 years. Something like that.

I think I can play pretty good, but probably in reality its only average. I want to start a band. I'm not sure if I'm good enough yet though.

I know 21-open, all the barred shapes, about a dozen jazz chords, strum patterns, finger-picking, arpeggios, power chords, etc. Theory is pretty good, circle of 5ths, 7ths, 9ths, circle of #'s and b's, circle of keys, how to build chords, transposition, key modulation, etc.

How do I know when I'm ready?
I've been playing in a band for 2 years, and I've only been playing for 3 1/2 years in total. Dont know much theory, just the basics up to grade 3. I seriously think you're ready.

Rock on!
Gear

Gibson Les Paul Studio Ebony/Gold
Jackson RR5 Ivory w/Black Pinstripes
Epiphone Les Paul 100 *For Sale*
Yamaha FX370C
Marshall AVT150HX + AVT4x12
sounds like you are ready to rock brother
Total Failure

If every dream is a wish, then to dream of zombies is to wish for an appetite without responsibility
How do I know when I'm ready?

You'll feel it

I know 21-open, all the barred shapes, about a dozen jazz chords, strum patterns, finger-picking, arpeggios, power chords, etc. Theory is pretty good, circle of 5ths, 7ths, 9ths, circle of #'s and b's, circle of keys, how to build chords, transposition, key modulation, etc.

honestly, that doesn't matter. I may helps, but I know kids who play guitar for 10 years and they can solo 20 minute long, but they still suck on writing own songs and stuff like this...

Much more important is that you belive in what you do, and that you're creative and can write your own stuff (Coverbands are reallllly boring )

So, if you think you can, look for some people, sit around and start to jam. If it sounds good, than you know you've done everything alright
The sex pistols started the band and most of the members didn't have a clue how to play.