Ok so I am brand new to tube amps...so I need some advice and stuff here.

I just acquired a Randall RG50TC (lol good story by the way) and by my ignorance of the situation and of tube amps I blew a tube (or a few I dont know really)

I had my Boss RC-2 in the effects loop, and I didnt have the output cord plugged all the way in to the pedal (since i wasnt gonna use it i didnt wanna drain the battery and of course thats how you turn it off) . It was really quiet and I couldnt figure out why, and so when I saw that the cord wasnt in all the way I plugged it in (and in my ignorance of the situation I had volumes anywhere from 7 to 10 on the damn thing) and it went haywire and blew the tube. But luckily its only when I have the amp on channel 2 without the gain switch on the footswitch engaged. When I engage the gain switch, it goes back to normal operation.

So I've gathered from this thread that different tubes for different sounds. So I guess I would like some suggestions on which tubes I should be lookin at (I mainly like the hard rock/metal side of music so tubes that would cater to that would be fantastic), and how much both options would cost me.

My pre-amp tubes are EH 12AT7's, and the Randall website says that it has two 5881 power tubes. I looked in the first few pages of the tube thread and it didnt say anything about 5881 power tubes so I dont know what those are.

Any suggestions? Oh and how do I know if I have to re-bias it? And is that something a newbie to tubes could do?
Elitists and Hypocrites
i would go to dougstubes.com and look up your amp as they have 'kits'. If you don't see it there then contact them and take their suggestion.

you can search here on 5881s as well as google.
you can search google on tube replacement tutorials.
you can search for your users manual on line at randall for biasing.

unfortunately, i don't think we have a Ultimate Randall thread.

general bump for ya for epic trade last night!