Hey all, I've been playing guitar for almost three years now and have only recently begun to take practicing and studying seriously.

I'm a left handed player who plays right handed guitars, and I've noticed that if either of my hands are slacking when playing a piece on guitar, it's almost always my right. I think that it never developed the same type of dexterity that I have with my left, so solid and clean picking is tough for me. I've been trying to find things to practice to help my dexterity, clean-ness and smoothness become stronger, but it's really tough.

I was wondering if anyone had anything I could incorporate into my practicing to help me? This has really been frustrating me because I want to be able to pick things but I mess up so often I want to just break my guitar.
Do you fingerpick or do you use a pick.

There are lots of exercises you can do. Work on patterns and practice them to a metronome.

With a pick start with one string using strict alternate picking. (Down up down up).

It is the timing that is important. Start slow keep steady and increase the tempo one or two notches at a time. When you reach a speed that causes you to miss notes or play sloppy slow down 20bpm's and work up again.

When you have worked up a good consistent alternate picking speed on one string.

When you can play alternate picking at a decent speed on one string introduce a second string.

There are two basic mechanics when changing strings with alternate picking - inside picking and outside picking. That's where you want to start then vary the patterns so that you try to combine these mechanics into the same exercises. Each time you achieve a satisfactory level increase the come up with a new pattern or increase the complexity somehow.

Here's some examples. d=downpick u=up pick (in case it wasn't obvious).

d---d---d---d---|  - Inside picking
--u---u---u---u-|

--u---u---u---u-| - outside picking
d---d---d---d---|

Some combinations and variations.
d-u-d---d-u-d---|