For the love of me, i cant seem to do pinch harmonics. I have been playing for about two years now, and i am by no means a good guitarist, but i do consider myself at least close to average. But i cant play pinch harmonics if you put a gun to my head. Is it the picks i am using (Dunlop Tortex .73)? is it the way i hold the picks (betwen my thumb and index finger, index finger bent inwards)? Do i even understand the concept? As far as i know you have to touch the string with your thumb as soons as you pluck the note, but i cant bend my arm or my wrist or my thumb to even come close to that! What am i doing wrong! I would really like to play some dio songs with my band, and they contain a lot of harmonics. Help!
Joža je kul. On ma sirove z dodatki pa hambije.
You're probably focusing on the technique too much. It's a quick motion, just a kind of scooping outward with your thumb, and the edge of your thumb should gently brush the string, not enough to halt the note but just enough to add a ring to it.

If you're muting or getting a dead sound, you're not exposing enough pick point. If you're just getting a solid note, you're exposing too much. It takes a while to get used to, but it should be a fluid motion, you're not changing the speed or the general way you pick, just how you move your thumb.

To be honest, I started landing em by accident when I was still learning electric. My picking was still a little sloppy, and I kept occasionally getting these cool ringing sounds, and after a while I just learned to control em. It's kind of a finesse thing, somthing you just have to keep practicing until you get it.

Good luck!

-edit- Not to say I'm not still learning or that my picking still isn't sloppy from time to time
-Guitar Gear-
1995 American Fender Strat, EMG 85 pup
Randall RH200 Head
Marshall 1960a Cab
Woods Acoustic
-Bass Gear-
Spector Legend 4 bass
Washburn Bantam bass
Hartke HA2500
Fender Bassman 410H
Play what you love, love what you play