I've been learning to play guitar for 6 months now (had my guitar for 4 of those), and to start off I was progressing fine, I've learned major chords, simple riffs and minor chords in my lessons, but over the past month or so, I've just been feeling that I haven't really improved as a player and it kind of sucks. I even tried to find a song to play, but now I can't even decide what type of music I want to try.

Has anyone else ever been in this situation, or got a solution to help me out of this rut?
Learn a song you enjoy.

A big part of learning the guitar is a lot of repetition. It gets old, but it's gratifying when you see the results. Learning a song you like or that inspires you and being able to play it well is a great way to get out of the repetitive stuff and have some fun.

Don't worry about how fast you're progressing, just know that you are. Progressing on guitar is a little like trying to watch your hair grow in the mirror: it may not seem like it, but it's always getting longer. One day you'll pick up the guitar and notice you can suddenly do somthing you've been struggling on. It kind of "jumps" in that way, but you've actually been progressing the whole time. The less you focus on it and the more you dedicate yourself to learning, the less frustrating it'll seem. Just know that you're always progressing, even when it doesn't seem like it.

Also, 6 months isn't very long in the guitar playing spectrum. You have your whole life to play guitar, don't stress over instant results, because there aren't any.
-Guitar Gear-
1995 American Fender Strat, EMG 85 pup
Randall RH200 Head
Marshall 1960a Cab
Woods Acoustic
-Bass Gear-
Spector Legend 4 bass
Washburn Bantam bass
Hartke HA2500
Fender Bassman 410H
Play what you love, love what you play