Page 1 of 3
As we all know, it's very important to remember that, when you're playing live, stage presence is just as important as what you're playing.

But there are plenty of different approaches to this. How do you find yourself on stage? Moreover, do you find you emulating (consciously or subconsciously) your favorite bassist?

I really get into it when I'm playing, so I'm not totally sure what I look like all the time. I know that a lot of times I pull out some freakout Flea-like moves... and occasionally some Mafia-caliber coolness like Robert DeLeo.

You?
Les Claypool
Geddy Lee
Robert DeLeo
Flea

Weileder

...Coincidence? I think not.
I do the stereotypical bassist thing. I stand right next to the drums and I pretty much stay in one spot the whole time bobbing my head to the music.
Quote by amitbob21
ok im a noob at slapping. Is it my strings or do i just suck at slapping? I have a squier fender J bass(im a noob). Im thinking of getting Ibanez GSR200

Quote by CheekanWofls
Practice on your wife
i have fairly long hair so i do some serious headbanging but the hair usually ends up in my mouth haha
also apperently when i play open strings i drop my arm to my side....also i quite like pushing the bottom of my guitar so it pretty much goes above my head and let is swing back done, depends if im trusting my strap that night or not
I'm all over the place and putting my all into it, and I'm in a shoegaze band! If you just stand there near the drums, you're doing it wrong.
Quote by Aidy Damage
I'm all over the place and putting my all into it, and I'm in a shoegaze band! If you just stand there near the drums, you're doing it wrong.

I know I am doing it wrong:P I just like to put my all into my playing since the other two guitar players are very skilled and are always running around the stage.
Quote by amitbob21
ok im a noob at slapping. Is it my strings or do i just suck at slapping? I have a squier fender J bass(im a noob). Im thinking of getting Ibanez GSR200