Hi everyone,

Ok, so I've been playing guitar for a few years now. I've noticed recently that when I'm jamming with my band, I often get drowned out. We have two guitar players, and apparently when the other guy is playing it's very hard to hear me. I'm just wondering what I can do about this. My amp is a Vox Valvetronix AD100VT so it's not an issue of the amp not being powerful enough (although I believe his is more powerful, it's some Traynor tube amp that's slightly bigger than my Vox). I definitely have my volume high enough, because when nothing else is playing it's very loud.. it sounds just as loud as anything else. But it just kind of gets lost in the band.

I would describe my tone as a bit "softer", which sounds great when I'm playing by myself but gets drowned out when his crunchier 70s-rock tone gets going. Personally, I like the crunchier tone better (unless I'm doing a solo, in which case I kind of like the softer tone). So, how do I cut through the mix and get myself heard??

I have a 10-band MXR EQ which I haven't been using lately (I was having problems with my amp's effects loop, which is where I had previously placed the EQ). I'm sure there are things I can do with that to make myself heard more, but I'm not incredibly familiar with how to manipulate my EQ to make the best tone. And I have tried turning my mids up (on my amp), but it doesn't seem to make much of a difference.

Thanks for any help!
Yeah I get this problem... you could ask him to turn his amp down
GENERATION 10: The first time you see this, copy it into your sig on any forum and add 1 to the generation. Social experiment.
my other guitarist (we don't do lead and rhythm, we just mix it up a bit) is always doing this, its odd, he has an old skool traynor too, weird...