Hello,

I'm planning to take everything out of a peavey footswitch(without LEDs) and putting it in a different housing, a smaller one so I can get it in my pedalcase. this is the easy part.
I also want to add a LED to each switch, this is where I've got some questions. I've read different things on this allready. Some say it's not necessary to put a resistor in line with each LED, some say it is. And if it is, what kind of resistor? And how do I attach these electronics to eachother? on a small circuitboard or not? and on and on...

as you can maybe see, I'm a noob at this so I would be really gratefull for your help.

Thanks in advance!!
to add LEDs, you'll need switches that have an extra pole, and you'll need a resistor depending on the power you have going to it. Whether you're using power from the amp, or a 9v battery or adapter inside the enclousre.
I'd really like to see more input on this, as it's a project I've contemplated as well.
My gear:
Flannel shirt
band
Quote by Roger Vanduffel
Hello,

I'm planning to take everything out of a peavey footswitch(without LEDs) and putting it in a different housing, a smaller one so I can get it in my pedalcase. this is the easy part.
I also want to add a LED to each switch, this is where I've got some questions. I've read different things on this allready. Some say it's not necessary to put a resistor in line with each LED, some say it is. And if it is, what kind of resistor? And how do I attach these electronics to eachother? on a small circuitboard or not? and on and on...

as you can maybe see, I'm a noob at this so I would be really gratefull for your help.

Thanks in advance!!
it all depends on the resistance of the relay coils.

iirc, the valve king series uses a 14v supply for those relays.
if you use an LED in series with each switch, that will knock down 2v.
that isn't a problem the relays will still engage at 12v.