hey guys so i wrote up some major scales in three octaves (trying to master the major scale atm)

im pretty new to theory but, could i just do vertical scales on every string and if i was making a solo or improvising with the a major scale could i play any notes anywhere on the fretboard? (learn vertical scale on every string and just mix it up when i play so i can use the whole fretboard...)
Playing the major scale doesn't help you master it.

Understand the theory, and you're one step closer to it.
If you play guitar, please don't waste your time in The Pit, and please instead educate yourself in the Musician Talk forum, where you can be missing out on valuable info.
Quote by DiminishedFifth
It's like you read my mind!

I got meself a self-approving sig. Kick. Ass.
Quote by SilverDark
Playing the major scale doesn't help you master it.

Understand the theory, and you're one step closer to it.

you didn't answer my question at all...

I knoe the theory to create major scales (WWHWWWH) and i'm working on making different forms of scales all over the fretboard.

My question is in the first post...
...I didn't understand what you were asking...

Do you mean 1- to study and analyze the notes for a major scale on the entire fretboard,

or 2- wanting to play other notes than the ones in the major key?

1st- Yeah, and also, learn all the notes on the fretboard.

2nd- You can, but it all depends on context.

And the theory behind the major scale isn't just constructing a major scale, it goes deeper than that.
If you play guitar, please don't waste your time in The Pit, and please instead educate yourself in the Musician Talk forum, where you can be missing out on valuable info.
Quote by DiminishedFifth

Last edited by SilverDark at Nov 3, 2008,
Quote by SilverDark
...I didn't understand what you were asking...

Do you mean 1- to study and analyze the notes for a major scale on the entire fretboard,

or 2- wanting to play other notes than the ones in the major key?