Page 1 of 2
So, all my life I've been told that a Sus2 chord includes the 1st,2nd, and 5th degrees of the major scale. I've never had any problem with that, and never come across any oppositional theories...until now.

I am in university music program, and in my theory class, I was told that a Sus2 chord, means that the 1st degree of the scale (root) is suspended. So we have the formula 2,3 and 5. I argued with the teacher for a bit, but he was adamant on his way.

Can anyone confirm/disprove this theory? Please help, it's kinda driving me crazy. I'm also a teacher, and have always taught the commonly understood sus2 chord. I don't want to be teaching something wrong!

Thanks, Kyle
And I can play guitar like a mother****in riot.
I was always taught that a sus2 was 1,2,&5 as well. If the 3rd is in the chord, I think that makes it an add9 chord.
I was told that a Sus2 chord, means that the 1st degree of the scale (root) is suspended. So we have the formula 2,3 and 5. I argued with the teacher for a bit, but he was adamant on his way.

Are you sure you didn't misunderstand him? The purpose of a suspended chord is to suspend a resolution by replacing the the third with either the second or fourth. I have never come across "2-3-5" in my life.
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.
I am sure I didn't misunderstand him. I have studied for years, and know my theory well-ish, and wouldn't have misunderstood something like that. I've always been taught what you guys have said. If there is a third it is an add9 chord.

Also, sending me links is not going to do much good. I've looked at a lot of them. And who knows who is writing those articles anyways.
Yeah, that can't be right. Just about any theory or chord book will confirm that sus2 is 1-2-5. I really hope you misunderstood him, I really do...

Grep.