im pretty new to the guitar. ive always been a great admirer but never got round to getting one and learning. well i was bought one about 5 months ago. im learning it now but pretty slow. there is some riffs among other things that i can play. but i want to learn some songs that are played on 7 string guitars. i only have a 6 string. now i would like some advice. i know i can detune and all this. but what i really want to know is if i was to buy a 7 string guitar, would any 6 string songs be able to be played on it just without using the top B string? or would this just be very hard. or should i buy a 7 string for songs that need it and use my 6 string for any 6 string songs?

=]
xxadamxx
Quote by lanky_1991
im pretty new to the guitar. ive always been a great admirer but never got round to getting one and learning. well i was bought one about 5 months ago. im learning it now but pretty slow. there is some riffs among other things that i can play. but i want to learn some songs that are played on 7 string guitars. i only have a 6 string. now i would like some advice. i know i can detune and all this. but what i really want to know is if i was to buy a 7 string guitar, would any 6 string songs be able to be played on it just without using the top B string? or would this just be very hard. or should i buy a 7 string for songs that need it and use my 6 string for any 6 string songs?

=]
xxadamxx

Yes, you should be perfectly able to play 6 string songs on a 7 string, Chris Broderick from Megadeth plays all their songs on his Ibanez LACS 7.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
Yes, you should be perfectly able to play 6 string songs on a 7 string, Chris Broderick from Megadeth plays all their songs on his Ibanez LACS 7.

+1.