hey guys, i'm looking around for a good tube amp. originally, i wanted a Peavey 5150, but as those aren't made anymore, and i'm not interested in the used stuff on ebay, i'm looking into Vox...

i'm kinda new to the whole Guitar amp scheme though (i'm originally a bass player)..so wattage and power and all that is a bit new to me.

either way i have played vox amps before and i really liked the smoothness that they can punch out. i'm looking at these two (which are just within my budget):

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Vox-Heritage-Collection-AC15HTVH-15W-Tube-Guitar-Amp-Head-483042-i1276294.gc

which is basically $1000

or the http://www.guitarcenter.com/Vox-Custom-Classic-AC30CCH-30w-Tube-Guitar-Amp-Head-103055901-i1145851.gc

which is $900.

i really want to stay within the $750-900 range...but vox doesn't have much under $1000.

anyway i had a few questions - my band plays a LOT of live shows at pretty good venues, and we do have plans to tour - so i need an amp that can basically fill a room with sound.

the first amp is a 15w all tube amp
and the second is a 30w all tube...is that even enough power to really fill a room with sound? (let's assume that the sound system is basic, and they aren't mic'ing our amplification every show).

our bassist uses an ampeq svt classic tube amp head, and that is a ton of power...are these vox amps even strong enough to compete with it?

if yes, can someone explain how wattage works with tube amps?
and if no, why are they so damn expensive?!?!

thanks!!

~Cassandra
quick version, we're playing a lighter style of electronica/punk. so i was recommended to look into vox for the softer style.
and thanks will look into the thread you posted
5151=6505
same EXACT amp..just a different name for copyright reasons. dont buy a vox as your main amp..unless you play in the beatles you will regret it for years to come...