Hey. I have been playing guitar for like 3 years now, and the last weeks i have been playing less and less. I got me a Gibson Les paul standard, so I really should been playing more. Im also using much of my time on computers, and next year im gonna choose school, so I have to find out if im gonna go in for music or computer engineering or something. Is the music way hard? Is it hard to earn cash on music etc.. Please come with some wiewpoints, and if you know something that could help getting into the playing again.

PLease hold on-topic, and thanks for answers
First of all I think the lack of replies shows how you are directing your question to the wrong audience.

Then again, considering you only just joined we're not your only hope in answering.

That said, yes, it's extremely hard to make a living making music, that is, creatively. If you join or start a band to play your own songs don't expect not to have another job as well. Actually that's how most of Guitar Center's employees end up there. If you want to attend classes or even school focusing on music, you have got to be sure that this is exactly what you want and what you are capable of.
You could become an audio engineer, like a tech, in clubs etc. but don't expect to make as much money as a computer engineer. Maybe you get discounts on beer, though.
You could become a producer, but if you want to take courses on music production take in account that internships in studios are volunteer-based, you won't make any money so that's gotta come from somewhere else and is going to take a lot of time.
You could become a music teacher yourself, but is that something you want to do fulltime for the rest of your life?

Or you could be really ambitious and talented and make it in the music industry. But then not wanting to pick up yer Gibson is not a good start. To get back into playing simply learn the songs you love most and play them a lot.

...question is, will the TH even read this? Oh well
Phrases Label