Hello fellow people.
I'm a bassist, been bassing for about a year and a bit and have had 2 lessons, part from that im prettyy much self taught. I have just been asked to join a indie/mod like band with my best mate and another guitarist guy who is amazing. The guitarist has done gigs before, but me and my drummer haven't. Its in the pub opposite r school... Sooo, any tips for a 13 yr old who is doing a gig in a few weeks and hasnt learned and songs for the gig yet? :S
lol, im sh***ing myself already.

P.S.: And name suggestions? So far were thinking about The Spitfires, the guitarists old bands name, or maybe The Roots... What you think, any suggestions??
Last edited by hollythetadpole at Nov 5, 2008,
Don't break a string, don't shit yourself, don't worry too much. PRACTICE.
Quote by Jackal58
If I was Santa you'd all get shit for Christmas.
i had the same problem, i know this sounds stupid but just go up and play if your really nervous watch your fingers on the bass and dont look out over the crowd
Eat a bowl of KFC before you play. It gets your fingers nice and greasy and allows your to play MUCH better.
Don't worry about it. Just practice practice and practice some more. The only real way to get rid of jitters/nerves is to be confident in yourself, and a lot of that comes with knowing the material.
Also, don't worry yourself about what others are going to think. That helps relieve some of the stress too.
Also, BTW, The Roots is already a band.
isnt the roots kind taken as a bandname?:P

beaten to it.. x(
Quote by ealtdharkon
Sorry to break this to you, but you "hardcore" fans don't HAVE mosh pits.
You have epileptic line dancing.

Quote by NotTheSun3290
Well... I AM a virgin, afterall...
Quote by Altoidwithmelon
Call the band The Searchbars...yea just do what needs to be done...and yes, over do it

The searchbars, I like it