I'm trying to write a song based on a riff devised in band practise, and I'm stuck for a chord sequence. Problem is, we need an energetic chorus sequence and a dramatic brige sequence, with solo in either relative minor key or parallel minor.
How do you devise a simple chord sequence, but more importantly, how do you smoothly change key from major to minor? And would it be better to change to relative minor or parallel for dramatic effect?

Excuse my gross lack of theory knowledge; I just about know how to imply a mode or alternative scale through using chords, but that's the best thing I know, and I don't know much about that, either.
Well, one way to come up with a simple cord sequence is to just write a simple single note sequence and turn that into basic chords, and then from there mess around with 7/sus4 etc to get the cound you want.

I'm not that experienced in key changes, but it may help to have the last chord in the original key ,and the first chord in the next key, in key with each other, if that makes sense.
Inhuman evil take down!
Try to find a chord or chords that key you're changing from and to have in common.
For example, let's say your 1st riff is in the key of Em. Your chords are; Em,F#dim.,G,Am,Bm,C, and D. The key you're changing to is A major; A,Bm,C#m,D,E,F#m, and G#dim. As you can see both scales have Bm and D in common.
Without knowing what keys you're using, I can't tell you what your options are.
One good way to change key is to change the tonic chord into a dominant 7th, therefore leading into a different tonic chord.

Or for a really dramatic key change, when you doing the second repeat of the chorus at the end, shift the key up two semitones. Don't bother arranging a smooth transition, just go straight into the new key. Ala cheesy power ballads
I just found a fantastic chord progression for a climactic solo, I.E. comfortably numb. It's in C# Minor, relative minor of E major.