Page 1 of 2
Hey, I've been playing guitar (self taught, never bothered with any lessons) for four years now, and I realise that I know NOTHING about guitars at all.

Other guitarists I know go on all the time about types of guitar, I sit there not having a clue what they are on about, I know some makes of guitar like Gibson, Jackson, But when it comes to models and whether they are good, i know zilch.

I know NO musical theory, I don't know what chords are what, or anything about scales or anything.

All I know is how to read tabs, and I can play pretty well (but not brilliant for four years). I know the names of a few techniques too like sweeping, and alternate picking.

But really, for someone who has been playing for so long. I know jack-all

So is there anyone else here who's been playing for a good few years, knows how to play, but knows basically nothing about guitars?

Please make me feel better and less stupid
Get at least a grasp of basic theory NOW! Then you will see the improvement to take you to brilliant, and you will learn to know what the hell your playing.
youd be a lot less "stupid" if you got lessons
so get lessons
their worth every dollar
Pull my finger

Quote by Explicit User

"Kyle.. Do you know what homosex is?"
me:"...yes... why?"
"Do you want to have it?"
Me again:"...no Anthony..no i don't"
"Oh.. okay.. good night"

haha

Quote by madhampster
Dear god the pit is a force to be reckoned with.
I've been playing for about 4 years, and i've never tried to learn theory, but i just cant avoid it. You must have deliberately ignored or something it my friend
God and Country are an unbeatable team; they break all records for oppression and bloodshed.
Really? Damnn haha

Does anyone know of a good set of online video tutorials to watch maybe? I don't have time to go and get lessons really (or money too with paying rent ect). So if anyone knows some good guitar for begginers online lessons, links would be very much appreciated.
Quote by FuZzY(aus)