Hi folks.

I started playing acoustic at the ripe old age of 29. I'm 30 this month!

I have a basic acoustic and originally, the strings were too much for my fingers so I changed them for 10's.

I then realised that it was likely the action, so had a local luthier fit a Bone nut.

So, now I want a little more tone and volume, so thicker strings are the way forward.

Currently using Elixir coated jobbies in 10 as I said.

What can I risk going to without needing my nut re-cut?

11? 12 at a push?

Cheers.
I would start with 11's, and then if those work good move up to 12's, and then even 13's if you want to (what I use on my acoustic). I would just go up one guage at a time, if for no other reason than to help your fingers adjust easlily.
My Gear:
Fender Stratocaster Deluxe HSS
Hagstrom HIIN
Crate Palomino V32H w/ matching cab.
Roland Cube 60
Roland Micro Cube
BOSS ME-20
Digitech Bad Monkey
Art and Lutherie acoustic
Quote by ninjafingers
I would start with 11's, and then if those work good move up to 12's, and then even 13's if you want to (what I use on my acoustic). I would just go up one guage at a time, if for no other reason than to help your fingers adjust easlily.

So you don't think that a nut, cut for 10's, will have a problem with 11's?
Well it could be bad for the neck if too high a gauge is put on aswell, I'd suggest talking with the guy who did your nut about it.
YellowGreenBlueRed

Quote by webbtje
You live in a ruler, the only child of trouser water (?); it's very fantastic, and salami!
Quote by renegade2031
Well it could be bad for the neck if too high a gauge is put on aswell, I'd suggest talking with the guy who did your nut about it.

Standard string size for an acoustic is 11/12. I have 10's, so I am not worried about neck integrity. I am worried about the larger string binding in the nut.
If the nut is cut for 10's then it should handle 11's with no problem. 12's? might have a little difficulty there.