Well im still learning and dont have much experiance with guitars. I heard someone once mention that basswood guitars are cheap and suck but all the guitars I see that aren't like over $1000 and I like are made of basswood! So is it really that bad or did I just hear wrong?
It kind of depends. Basswood is light but not extremely a good tone wood. Most guitarists I know prefer Mahogony Wood.
It's not bad, and an excellent piece of basswood is better than a shitty piece of something else. But it would not be my first choice of wood. But for budget guitars, it's pretty good.
It's a pretty neutral wood, leaning toward warm. Cuts through very well. Lotsa shredders use Basswood guitars (Satch, Petrucci used to I think, maybe Vai).
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 with Gotoh GE1996T (EMG 85/60)
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.
depends on the quality of the basswood, and the tone you're after...
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?