Ever since I started playing (about three or four years ago) I haven't been comfortable using my pinky for my left hand. Especially when I'm playing pentatonic scales, I always seem to be replacing the notes you play with the pinky with my ring finger. If I continue being crappy with my pinky will this issue affect my playing ability?
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
It would most likly hinder you in some way, cause lets face it you one finger less control of i would advice doing some chromatic runs 1-2-3-4 on each string to a metronome and also doing it diagonally
i dont kno how you are playing but if you are laying is and bending the joint backwards (the joint closest to your nail) try bridging your pinky instead, so you have more support on it instead of laying it across the string, take it slow too
ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ ಠ_ಠ

Quote by Xp3ns1v3
I thought it was illegal for women to use the internet.
a 4th finger at your disposal is pretty essential for advanced playing. I would recommend his chromatic idea working up and down the strings and up and down the fretboard from 1st to 12th fret 4 frets at a time. As a rule of thumb for these exercises they are 4 frets long for each pattern and each finger should be assigned to a specific fret, an example is 4th = index, 5th = middle 6th = ring 7th = pinky, make sure you stick to that to isolate each fingers muscles.

try these patterns on all strings
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
------------------------etc.-------------------------and so on--------------------|
----------------1h2h4---------------------2h3h5---------------------------------|
--------1h2h4---------------------2h3h5-----------------------------------------|
1h2h4---------------------2h3h5-------------------------------------------------|
just bump up a fret everytime.