OK I've been playing for about 1 1/2 years, and I feel like I've kinda hit a wall in my playing; I don't seem to be improving at all (it feels like I'm getting worse). I play metal (omgnowai ), and I also like improvising to basic jazz backing tracks using a minor pentatonic. But I want to get a little more technical with my playing. I discovered players like Yngwie Malmsteen, Jason Becker and the like a little while ago, and I've been trying to expand my playing by using different scales (natural and melodic minor), arpeggios and different techniques like sweep picking. But I don't seem to be getting anywhere.

Also, different point but related, I can read music but I can't read it for guitar; I can read a stave for piano for example, but I rely on tabs for guitar. How can I stop relying on tabs for reading music?

Thanks..

Edit: as for some songs I can play, I can't play any solos of major technical difficulty (eg. I can play the solo from Smells like Teen Spirit, and most of the Stairway To Heaven solo, just to give you an idea). Most songs I can basically get the rhythm section OK, but they're not at tight as I'd like them to be.
Last edited by kenan6346 at Nov 8, 2008,
If you know the notes on your fretboard, then you can read for guitar..

The only difference is applying it, which takes practice and learning your fretboard.

And just keep practicing, it's often hard to notice improvement because you are always hearing yourself play. If you record yourself playing a piece, then do so a month later, you will probably notice a huge difference.
Try something new, invest some serious time learning something above your level like Gray Pianos Flying - Shawn Lane, and then just take bits you like the sounds of and work on them.
have u been getting lessons? cos getting lessons really help when u feel like ur in a dead end
Quote by SeeEmilyPlay
Play with others!