Hi guys. I've been playing since January of 2006 and right now I don't know where to go with my guitar playing. I was wondering if anyone had any tips on where i should go from this point. I know the A Major Pentatonic scale and a couple chords (A, Am, G, D, E, Em, Dm, C, B, and some other varients). I also know a couple riffs, but I'm confused on where to go from here.

Also I've heard about incorporating other band's styles into your playing. How does that work? For instance, how would I incorporate Avenged Sevenfold, Sum 41, Steve Vai, or Joe Satriani into my playing with what I know now, or how would I practice to get my skill and technique up to be enough to incorporate their style into mine?
Quote by NGD1313
Yes, my mom walked in on me getting my carrot skinned.

So I freaked out and flipped the vegetable tray.

There was ranch everywhere.
I would work on learning how to play all the main chords (A, B, C, D, E, F, G and their minors and well as 7ths.), and become comfortable with playing them all over the neck.
That's what I did. Then start learning more scale modes. Start with major and minor pentatonic and major and minor ionian. Then try harmonic minor and dorian, then move on to the other modes.
Scales are really important and once you know them pretty well and can move them across the neck really well, you will be able to learn a lot of new licks fairly quickly, esp. Satriani and A7X.
Also, just practice the riffs you know, and always be listening to stuff you've never heard before to get more riffs in your head, then just go for it and learn them

I hope this was of some help, that's seemed to work for me as a guitarist
the F is the only one I cant play because its barre, but I know all major chords except that. I also as I stated know the A major pentatonic.
Quote by NGD1313
Yes, my mom walked in on me getting my carrot skinned.

So I freaked out and flipped the vegetable tray.

There was ranch everywhere.
Quote by Gorre