I've had a few people, and a band or two, approach me recently about recording and mixing their demos for them. Nothing too fancy, just a basic mix and maybe a few effects.

There's a song I did with one guy in my profile. It was done yesterday, in about three hours - two hours of recording, and one hour of mixing. He knew exactly what he was going for. All it's missing is drums, which I've offered to have someone come in and play those.

What I'm wondering is - what's the going rate for a really basic service like this? How does it break down, in terms of recording time, mixing time, and possibly hiring a session player? I've got no real experience in charging for my work, so I don't want to sell myself short.

Thanks, ya'll.
you should do it for free just to get experience, maybe you'll attract more bands that way and then maybe later you can start to take out some cash for your work.

you do need alot of experience I'd say from listening to the song in your profile.
Well, I would just offer this as a first step for you. Get your bands in tune. That is one of the most important things in any song. Your song is hard to listen to because of how off many of the notes are.

That might be more on the band, but it's still up to you to help them with that sort of thing.
IdirtI

I sold my Parker Nitefly, Line 6 POD X3 Live and Crate Powerblock on Ebay. I'm depressed about it, so if I'm grumpy, that's why. = (
By the way Rasker, did you do the song on your profile? If so, you are awesome. If not, how do I get a hold of the record it's on?
IdirtI

I sold my Parker Nitefly, Line 6 POD X3 Live and Crate Powerblock on Ebay. I'm depressed about it, so if I'm grumpy, that's why. = (
Quote by idirti
By the way Rasker, did you do the song on your profile? If so, you are awesome. If not, how do I get a hold of the record it's on?