I have been playing bass (self taught) for the past 2 years or so, an aim of mine is to get into a band and start doing some gigs.

I have been putting it off as im not sure if I would be able to hold my own in a band, i think it's because I have no experience of playing with outher musicians, as well as the fact that my music theory isn't quite as good as I'd like it to be!

Does anyone have theory/confidence tips for newbie musicians wanting to join a band?
ask friends if they play, and if they do then ask if they want a bit of a jamming session??

then get them to ask their other friends and build it up from there.
no experiance with other musicians?

go jam with some of your friends, everyone and their grandmother plays an instrument these days
well first of all, you gotta be confident. if you dont put yourself out there and really think youre good, no one else will. if you have friends start by just jamming with them, theyll be less likely to criticize you harshly. as for music theory, lessons might be a way to go. i played for 2 years before i started lessons, and even if youre pretty good, it can be pretty humbling. there are some things that you just arent going to get about music without someone else showing them to you.
cheers! none of my friends play anything... but i think lessons are a good idea!
yeah definitely check out some local teachers in your area if you can afford it. your best bet is to probably look for a more private teacher. although they're a bit harder to find, they usually charge less and care more than like people from a big music store.
The only way you'll get better is by playing with other musicians. This is the perfect oppertunity. This will help you interact on a musical level, improve your timing and rhythm, and allow you to really create musical fusion. I highly recommend you take this oppertunity to really express yourself. Otherwise you will find it incrediably hard to find a band later