I have been playing guitar for about two years and have progressed pretty fast with it because I already knew a lot of theory from playing piano. I can sight read score (not tab) open to the 5th fret on all strings. I know all about modes and progressions and ii V I and jazz stuff and can play along with a lot of jazz songs with changing key sigs and stuff.

But I solo completely from positions. I know the set scale patterns for the modes and can connect them but I have to think of where another pattern would be in relation to the one I'm playing to be able to move around the neck.

Like if I'm playing in C, I know I can play G Mixo or E phrygian and it will fit. If a song goes from the key of D to the key of G, I have to physically move from the D Major scale pattern to the G major scale pattern or think of what D is in the scale of G and change the D Major pattern to a D Mixolydian pattern.

However, it's not like I can just look at a fret and know what note it is and play free of the set patterns. And I definitely can't target chord tones like I can on piano because I'm thinking of patterns and not what the notes are.

If I'm learning a solo by John Petrucci or listening and watching some blues guy, they are doing something different. They aren't just playing positions and playing notes that fit the chords in the song. They have complete control over all the notes all over the fret board and most importantly phrasing. I guess what I'm trying to get at is, how does one go from just playing notes that don't clash with the chords behind it to playing a creative and unique solo? Does it come from just listening to other guys and replicating it?