Sorry for making a thread on what already exists but I couldn't really find any information on my specific question. I've been playing guitar for a couple months now and everything has progressed smoothly, I've always let my right arm rest on the body and allowed the thumb of my left hand to press against the back of the neck. However, I just now noticed that most people don't even rest their right arm on the body and actually curl their left hand (palm still not touching) around the neck. Is this a better technique to get utilize ass opposed to my own ? Thanks, I'd appreciate any help
I recommend you not to rest your left arm on your your body, you will get used to that, and when you want play guitar standing it's going to feel uncomfortable
That is a great question. I was curious about this myself about a year ago. I say there are different positions for each situation. Heck, or even playing what is comfortable for you.

Here is an example of when you need to keep your thumb down firmly on the back of the neck. This is from Back in Black (look at the second measure):

E               D              A                   end rhythm figure 1
e|------------------------------------|-----------------------------------||
B|-----------------3-3-3--------------|-----------------------------------||
G|-----------------2-2-2----------2-2-|2---------------------------------o||
D|-2---------------0-0-0----------2-2-|2---------------------------------o||
A|-2------------------------------0-0-|0---2-----2-----2-----2------------||
E|-0----------------------------------|------4.----5.----6.----7/---------||

Yeah, that would be very uncomfotable/hard playing it with your thumb gripping around the neck.