Hi, I am very new to the guitar scene and my sister bought me a really cheap guitar/amp combo a few months ago. I've been teaching myself how to play since then and I just recently bought a new Marshall Amp. When I connect my shitty guitar to my new amp and go to the distortion channel I get A LOT of feedback from the amp and it's almost unplayable. The clean channel is fine, but the distortion really messes up the sound.

I'm pretty sure this has to do w/ my shitty 80 dollar guitar.. it's a Lyon by Washburn. Now I don't know exactly how important pickups are and was wondering if new pickups would fix this or should I invest in a new guitar?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks
maybe the volume knob on the overdrive channel is just turned up way too high... turn it down and i think it should be fine...
Get a New guitar not new pickups
My Stuff:
Epiphone SG
Jackson DK2M
Dean DOFlage ML
Dean Razorback db
VOX Valvetronix VT30
EHX Metal Muff
Dunlop Crybaby
Digitech RP90

Add me...
New guitar, it's probably made out of plywood so don't spend money on it. It might be a great beginner guitar but if you're willing to progress get something like a pacifica.
That marshall is very loud on the overdrive channel. To some extent it is the guitar but it will mostly be the amp
Quote by John Petrucci
When it comes to practicing, I would spend about 63 hours a day
Quote by SG RocKeR4485
Get a New guitar not new pickups

Yeah that's what I was thinking. I was in a guitar center the other day and was playing this one Ibanez guitar.. I forget the model number but it was about 400 dollars. Sounded really nice and seemed much easier to play than mine
New amp > new guitar > new pickups.

Applies to you.

Epiphone Les Paul Standard w/ SD Alnico Pro II's
Fender Aerodyne Telecaster & Stratocaster
Marshall JCM 800 4104 combo

E-Married to Funny_Page
Quote by Chrisiphone
New amp > new guitar > new pickups.

Applies to you.