I've been playing guitar for about 17 years now. I can play just about anything I have tab for and a fair amount by ear. I've played enough blues-y stuff that I can improvise blues well enough to seem like a real musician. But I'm not...

I know nothing about music theory. Nothing. I realize this issue probably comes up fairly often and that's why this forum has a FAQ, but I'm too retarded at music theory to even get by with that guide.

Ideally, I would like to find a music theory class at a local college/university (I live in Santa Monica). I checked the SMCC and UCLA websites, but didn't find anything for the upcoming Winter '09 quarter. Am I missing something? Can anyone recommend a good place in the area to learn theory (ideally targeted for guitarists)?

Alternatively, I need a very good book. I have that Guitar Grimoire book at home. I bought it years ago, tried to use it as a learning aid for a couple hours, and gave up. I felt like it was more of a quick reference for people who already know this stuff than a from-the-basics tutorial. I need something better. Ideally, I'd like something that digs a little into the math and science behind it all so I'm not just memorizing scales, but instead am learning why they are what they are.

Thanks for your help.
i leanrt stuff from here, and scales, it easier if u no the notes of each fret
Just call me Julius, J, etc.
Taking an Internet break for a while, will come on when I can.
3 links that everyone gets

Crusade Articles by Josh Urban

http://ultimate-guitar.com/home/con...&filter=columns

That's all his things but The Crusades are called Crusades.

Free Power various

http://profile.ultimate-guitar.com/Freepower/

Go through the videos in his profile, the links in his signature so look at one of his posts.

BanGoodCharlotte

http://profile.ultimate-guitar.com/bangoodcharlote/

The link in the bottom of her signature is always recommended.