Hey all,

I'm a uni student on a budget and I'm looking to buy a tube amp for blues (it'll be for practice). Most of the music I play is from artists such as Stevie Ray Vaughan, and Eric Clapton. I prefer cleaner tones (think Little Wing) but I will occasionally play with dirtier tones (I'll pedal it). I currently play a stock Yamaha Pacifica 112J.

So far I have the Crate V18 112, and Epiphone Valve Junior in mind (how good are the cleans? I'll test these out at a shop when I get the chance).

Summary:

What I play: Mostly SRV & Clapton (modern) styles.
Current Guitar: Yamaha Pacifica 112J.
What I want: Budget tube amp w/ good cleans for practicing.

Any suggestions are appreciated. Cheers.
If you can find one used, a fender blues jr would work great. I hate to plug the amp I own, but I can nail SRV with mine. Just listen to the blues lead clip in my profile. Granted I've cranked it up about all the way and I'm using a very nice overdrive, it's still not hard to get a nice SRV tone if you're using an overdrive pedal.

Edit: I say used since I assumed your budget was around 200-300 dollars judging from the amps you listed there.
I don't give a shit if you listen to me or not
I +1 the blues junior.
Look into used Peavey Classic 30's too, but usually they are fairly rare under 300 bucks.
Call me Wes.
Gear:
Fender American Deluxe HSS Strat
Chicago Blues Box Roadhouse
Bad Cat Cougar 5
1957 Gibson GA-5
Ceriatone 18w TMB Combo
Hughes & Kettner Tube Factor
Various Ibanez TS9s
Weber MASS Attenuator
Quote by darkarbiter7
I +1 the blues junior.
Look into used Peavey Classic 30's too, but usually they are fairly rare under 300 bucks.

+1, I got lucky and got mine off of CL for 275, barely used. Parents bought it for their kid and he ended up not liking guitar, sat in a closet for 3 years and now it's mine.
Hmm, he didn't say how much he had in his budget....but +1 to the Blues Junior or the Peavey.
'Cause I have done it before and I will do it some more....
Good job, kevin!