I searched and found some helpful topics, but didn't really answer all of my questions. I have been playing guitar for almost 10 years and have recently started playing lead in a new band I am writing for. I'm curious as to how much or how little is good for playing lead, though I assume it depends on the music and what sounds pleasing to the ear. We are playing a kind of alternative rock with screamo/metal parts as well.

I don't want to drown out the singer by playing some lick over the rhythm, so should I save the technical parts for intro's, or parts between verses, and then stick to simple stuff inbetween (very subtle, almost hard to hear)? I'm not really sure where to go, I'm starting by just playing a different octave of either the rhythm, or trying to match the vocal notes on the fretboard.

Also, should a lead guitarist always be playing something different than rhythm? It seems like you should, or else what is the point of having two guitars, but I really don't know. Thanks in advance.
Well If u play quintuplet tapping licks when the singer is singing, it won't work.

Unless your steve vai: Check chorus of linked video.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1jWq_pF37s&feature=related

You sayu have 2 guitars, try harmonies in the verse, or higher chords, double stops etc.

You generally don't play the same as the 2nd guitarist cause it would be overkill and drown everything out. However it depends what sound u want, there's really no rule for this.

Just experiment with stuff.

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[font="Palatino Linotype
Who's Andy Timmons??
Last edited by xxdarrenxx at Nov 11, 2008,
Thanks for the reply. What are double stops? And by higher chords, you mean like playing the same chord but an octave up?
Quote by Slick_KH
Thanks for the reply. What are double stops? And by higher chords, you mean like playing the same chord but an octave up?