Hi, I am new to the guitar scene and i currently have a very very crappy guitar that my sister bought me from target

http://www.target.com/Lyon-Washburn-Electric-Guitar-LI15BPAK/dp/B00130CQVM/sr=1-12/qid=1226473602/ref=sr_1_12/189-2016327-7019960?ie=UTF8&index=target&rh=k%3Alyon&page=1

and i've had this guitar for a few months now and it's time for me to upgrade. My budget is about 400 dollars and I was wondering if you guys could help me choose a new guitar. I like playing songs by Nirvana, red hot chili peppers, etc..

Thanks =)
maybe a les paul studio for good rock tone

or a regular strat

or an Ibanez RG

all good choices IMO
Quote by AA00P
Forget genres, the real conflict is in the subgenres.

"LOLZ UR MOOSICZ NOT BROOTALZ ENOUGH ITS SYMPHONIC MELODIC ATMOSPHERIC BLACK METAL NOT SYMPHONIC MELODIC ATMOSPHERIC BLACKENED DEATH METAL CHUG-CORE LOLZ!!!"
I'd go to your local guitar store and try out as many guitars out in your price range as you can. What is your amp situation? If that $400 doesn't include a new amp, I'd go by what Jared said. Strats, and some low-mid grade epiphones/ibanez's should be good. But you never know until you play them.
Im glad u said Ibanez RG. I was at a guitar center and played one and i loved it but i wasn't sure if Ibanez are good guitars or not. Also would a 400 dollar epiphone be better or a 400 dollar ibanez?

or in other words:
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Ibanez-RG5EX1-Electric-Guitar-103574026-i1167870.gc

vs

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Epiphone-Les-Paul-Standard-Plain-Top-Factory-B-Stock-103812863-i1149387.gc
as for an amp, my friend sold me a marshall mg30dfx for 100 bucks so i think im set w/ an amp
In my oppinion i would go with an epiphone because i used to own an ibanez and a friend of mine let me jam on his and the sound is alot better and they sound great on a marshal when the amp is set up good but thats my oppinion