So I decided that I want to rip out the 3 single coils in my strat and just slap in a humbucker with a volume control. I am a former electronics student but i have never overhauled a guitars pickups/wiring harness before. What should I expect? I expect I will just need the volume pot, cap, resistor and input jack, so I can instal the humbucker correct? Any tips or advice before I screw this thing up?
Gear Building Thread.
Quote by Cathbard
If all you had to go on was the forum you'd think a Decimator could cure noise caused by dodgey stage lighting and restock the ocean's population of sperm whales
Don't take this the wrong way or anything, but why the hell would you want to do this?
Quote by Vincent Vega
Haikus are awesome
but sometimes they don't make sense
Refrigerator

Quote by KissingShadows
People always tell me I solo like Zakk Wylde. Thats how I know that I suck.
Quote by thsrayas
Don't take this the wrong way or anything, but why the hell would you want to do this?

Because i just don't like the tone of single coils. I play alot of harder edged rock and singles just don't do it for me, no matter how much gain or distortion i add to my signal the single coils just can't get that "crunch" that I want. Plus it is a cheap guitar and the original pickups kinda suck anyway they hum and buzz like hell.
Last edited by Pizza The Hut at Nov 14, 2008,
You'd be better off getting a different guitar than swapping the pickups. The type of wood and the mass of the guitar also has an effect on the tone and a guitar that's made for rock will do a much better job.

But if you just need a temporary solution you should leave the two single coils in your guitar and throw a humbucker in the bridge. All you will have to do is take the strings off, remove the pickguard, unscrew and de-solder the bridge pickup, then screw in the humbucker, solder it and put everything back on. It's very simple, just some basic soldering.

What amp are you using?
Quote by Vincent Vega