Who else is a finger eater? I'm not talking about nail bitters but, people who chew the skin off their fingers. It's actually pretty common among guitar players because they like to chew the calluses right off.

But, with me, I've been doing it for about 6 years now and it has progressed to me not only chewing the calluses, but also the part of my thumb where it gets to the joint area. I'll let heal a little and then just re peal it off. Sometimes I'll even ingest the skin.

It's disgusting and I always feel ashamed whenever I'm around doctors and such. I've searched it on the net and apparently it's a form of self mutilation but just one that's not as popular as cutting yourself.

I hope some sort of medical study is done on this and information is released on what might help at stopping. I've tried many ways but nothing seems to work. The problem is, I catch myself doing it without even knowing that I'm doing it... sigh.
█████████████████████████████████████████████
Portugal. The Man »–
I've been doing it since 3rd grade (I'm in 11th now).
I told my self I would quit when I picked up guitar, but still do it.
You would find dead pieces of skin alllll along my strings, it was horrid.

MC name = Bearrorism
Its weird. My ex girlfriend used to do that when she was nervous, and it got to the point that she would do it all the time. I made her stop(by saying stop and pulling her hands down) and she stopped for months, then her boyfriend broke up with her and she does it again.

Its just a habit, you just have to force yourself to stop and have self control. Its just like any other habit. It can be broken with enough self control.
Write your own lyrics or poetry? Post them HERE for a crit.
Follow me on Twitter
I never tear the skin off.

Actually, I don't bite my fingers at all. I do, however, gnaw at my arm during class and see how long it takes people to notice.

The ladies love me.
Quote by jetfuel495
that is one goddamn shiny mother****ing toaster you have there