Diatonic Scales

author: SRVGuitarFreak date: 12/05/2003 category: music theory tips
rating: 0
votes: 0
views: 916
vote for this lesson:
Hey everyone. What I am going to ty to do here is to give some tips and stuff on Diatonic scales. For some reason it seems that almost all rock players will go for the pentatonic scales, why? Well I really don't know. My Guitar teacher when I was taking from him, taught me out of fretboard logic (which I found to be very good) and it showed pentatonics and diatonics, modes and everythin else in between, but it never mentioned that pentatonics were more widely used or anything, and neither did my teacher. So I never spent any more time on them. I acually found I preferred the Diatonics over the Pentatonics. Just because more notes on a string were easier for me to play. So here I am going to show you some Diatonic scales (for you who have just started scales and stuff) and hopefully give you a few more tools to use instead of always getting stuck in the pentatonics, now don't get me wronge pentatonics are great, I have nothing against them I'm just showing you something different. These mess up alot but I'll try to make it where the notes aren't everywhere. e--------------------------4-5-7*-- b----------------------5-7--------- g-----------------4-6-7------------ d-----------4-6-7------------------ a-----4-5-7------------------------ E--5-7----------------------------- Now this is the E Diatonic scale in the A position. Of cource it can be moved anywhere. And the reason I put "*" right there with the "7" is because that note is in the scale but if you are playing starting with the 5th fret you only go up to the 5 in front of the 7. Now if you played a Dorian scale, go to the 7. But enough of that. e-------------------------4-6-7- b-------------------4-5-7------- g-------------3-4-6------------- d---------4-6------------------- a---4-6-7----------------------- E-7----------------------------- This is the G scale in the B position. Now if you haven't already noticed thses are not in 3-note-per-string form. so, anyway, they're just regular. e---------------------4-5-7------ b-------------4-(5)-7------------ g---------4-6-------------------- d---4-6-7------------------------ a-7------------------------------ E-------------------------------- I have the () around the 5 to indicate that that is the root note to end on. Again the rest are in the scale, and can be used for modes. This is the C scale in the E position. And, all of these are Ionion, which is major. e------------------------5-7--------- b------------------5-7-8------------- g-----------4-6-(7)------------------ d-----4-5-7-------------------------- a-5-7-------------------------------- E------------------------------------ Again 7 is your root note to end on. This is the A scale in the D position. So there we have it, The A, E, G, C scales. There is a D but I don't know it well, sorry so learn these if you don't already know them and get some more tools under your belt, have fun, hope that helped a little!
Only "https" links are allowed for pictures,
otherwise they won't appear