Ex-My Chemical Romance Guitarist Frank Iero Presents New Music Video

Gory black-and-white video was directed by Brandon LaGanke and John Carlucci.

Ultimate Guitar

Former My Chemical Romance guitarist Frank Iero is brought back from the dead in the video for his new single "Weighted," NME reports.

The song is the first to be taken from "Frnkiero and the Cellabration"'s debut album "Stomachaches," which is due for release on August 25. The gory video opens with Iero as a corpse in a coffin before he is brought back to life and takes his revenge. One memorable scene sees him use somebody's intestines as a skipping rope.

Speaking about the video, which was directed by Brandon LaGanke and John Carlucci, Iero said: "When I first wrote out the treatment/concept, I knew it had to be John Carlucci and Brandon LaGanke in the director's chair and my friend Tate Steinsiek on special effects. No one else could have made my dreams a reality like they did. I needed incredibly talented, sick-in-the-head individuals who didn't mind working 32 hours a day to make this all happen. And I must say I am forever indebted to their beautifully deranged spirits."

Iero is the second My Chemical Romance member to go solo following the band split in 2013. The band's frontman, Gerard Way, releases his album in September. The guitarist performed all 12 of the songs on 'stomachaches', with My Chemical Romance drummer Jarrod Alexander joining him in the studio.

The tracklisting for "Stomachaches" is as follows:

01. All I Want Is Nothing
02. Weighted
03. Blood Infections
04. She's the Prettiest Girl at the Party and She Can Prove It With a Solid Right Hook
05. Stitches
06. Joyriding
07. Stage 4 Fear of Trying
08. Tragician
09. Neverenders
10. Smoke Rings11. Guilttripping12. Where Do We Belong? Anywhere but Here

YouTube preview picture

6 comments sorted by best / new / date

    I hear the punk influences oozing from the orifices and it's good
    It's a bit meh, kinda indie, doesn't have any standout parts. It's kind of a tune for the car but it's nice. I hope he has some more tasty stuff on his record though.