Josh Homme Salutes Crowdsurfer in Wheelchair During Queens of the Stone Age's Sziget Performance

Frontman labels fan "the baddest motherf--ker out there" at Hungarian festival.

Ultimate Guitar

Queens of the Stone Age frontman Josh Homme praised the fan, who was doing a crowd surfing at August 12's night of Sziget. What's interesting, you ask? The fan was disabled and he was doing the crowd surfing in a wheelchair.

Homme was so impressed, he dedicated the song "First It Giveth" to the fan, saying about him: "That's the baddest motherf--ker out there."

Speaking of the whole show, Homme was in a talkative mood that evening. For example, he took the opportunity during the instrumental break of "No One Knows" to tell the audience, "It's so f--king beautiful here." After "Feel Good Hit of the Summer" and "The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret" from 2000 breakthrough LP "Rated R," Homme described "Fairweather Friends" off last year's "...Like Clockwork" as "a song about everyone that isn't here."

The band, who return to the UK later this month to co-headline Reading and Leeds with Paramore, played a career-spanning set comprising songs from all their studio albums except 1998's "Queens of the Stone Age."

Earlier in the day, Brody Dalle opened the A38 Stage performing tracks from recently released debut solo album "Diploid Love." Before launching into "Sick of It All" by her former band the Distillers, she informed the crowd, who readily obliged: "I really like circle pits. Do you like circle pits? Let's do this!." Their youngest son Orrin Ryder Homme, who is on tour with Dalle and husband Josh Homme, celebrated his third birthday at the event.

Queens of the Stone Age played:

01. You Think I Ain't Worth a Dollar, but I Feel Like a Millionaire
02. No One Knows
03. First It Giveth
04. My God Is the Sun
05. Burn the Witch
06. Smooth Sailing
07. I Sat by the Ocean
08. Make It Wit Chu
09. If I Had a Tail
10. Little Sister
11. Feel Good Hit of the Summer
12. The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret
13. Fairweather Friends
14. Sick, Sick, Sick15. Go With the Flow16. A Song for the Dead

21 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Shouldn't he (also) be saluting the people who carry the guy, and made that cool thing possible ?
    Same thing happened first time I saw them a few years ago. Wheelchair users must love their queens!
    Would have been when they played at soundwave a few years back I saw a bloke in a wheelchair crowd surfing as well...
    Damn if I saw Millionaire>No One Knows>First it Giveth I'd be half-expecting a full SftD show.
    Lollapalooza 2013, Santiago. 50% of their setlist was pure SftD. Good shit.
    I was there. During No One Knows what he actually said was "It's ****in' beautiful out here tonight" *looks up at the cloudy sky * *eh * Great show!