Karen O Unveils Solo Single 'Rapt'

Yeah Yeah Yeahs frontwoman releases her debut LP 'Crush Songs' on September 8.

Ultimate Guitar

Karen O has unveiled her single "Rapt." Listen to it below.

The song is the first to be taken from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs frontwoman's debut solo album "Crush Songs," which is due for release on Julian Casablancas' Cult Records label on September 9.

The track will first be available pre-release as a limited, special vinyl edition, incorporating Karen's own personal drawings and handwritten lyrics. "Crush Songs" was recorded between 2006 and 2007 and is described as a "collection of lo-fi, bedroom recordings." Scroll down for a full tracklisting.

"When I was 27 I crushed a lot," O said in a statement. "I wasn't sure I'd ever fall in love again. These songs were written and recorded in private around this time. They are the soundtrack to what was an ever continuing love crusade. I hope they keep you company on yours."

Yeah Yeah Yeahs released their latest album, "Mosquito," in 2013. Earlier this year Karen O was nominated for an Academy Award for her song "The Moon Song," taken from the film "Her."

The 'Crush Songs' tracklist is:

01. Ooo
02. Rapt
03. Visits
04. Beast
05. Comes the Night
06. NYC Baby
07. Other Side
08. So Far
09. Day Go by
10. Body
11. King
12. Indian Summer
13. Sunset Sun14. Native Korean Rock15. Singalong

YouTube preview picture

9 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Yah, that was pretty damn good actually. I'm not familiar with Karen O though, but I really recognise her voice from somewhere or something.