WhoCares: 'Out Of My Mind' Video

artist: Whocares date: 05/05/2011 category: online downloads

Sign up to get weekly digest with top stories from UG. Ads free, only news.

Thanks for subscribing! Check your email soon for some great stories from UG

I like this
votes: 3
views: 874
WhoCares - the renewed musical union between legendary Deep Purple singer Ian Gillan and none other than Black Sabbath's Tony Iommi: the undisputed master of heavy guitar riffs - will release its debut CD single in North America on June 27 via Eagle Rock Entertainment. The single will be made available in Europe on May 24 through earMUSIC. The digital release for both territories will be May 6. The single features two brand new studio tracks "Out Of My Mind" and "Holy Water", which will raise funds for the rebuilding of a music school in Gyumri, Armenia. The CD single will also contain the video clip of "Out Of My Mind" (see below) and a 40-minute documentary that shows Gillan's and Iommi's involvement with the Armenia cause over the years. Speaking to Armenia's Mediamax news agency, Gillan was asked what the experience of working with Iommi again was like compared to their previous collaboration. "It was great to work with Tony again", Gillan replied. "He is very easy to write with and as a singer I know exactly where he's going. It wasn't dramatic, just friendly and professional." He added, "We hope to do it again sometime in the not-too-distant future." "It wasn't like the last experience with Black Sabbath; that was a band and an album - totally different." When asked how the inspiration for the song "Out Of My Mind" came out right after he visiting Armenia in October 2009, Ian said, "Well, normally... people like us who work with bands write the bits that we play. In this case, with 'Out of My Mind', Tony presented the entire musical idea and I wrote what I sing over the top, or along with it, if you prefer. The second track of the WhoCares single, 'Holy Water', was a bit different as I wrote that with Steve Morse [Deep Purple] and Tony was gracious enough to play guitar on it." "Out Of My Mind" recording lineup:
  • Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath) - Guitar
  • Ian Gillan (Deep Purple, Black Sabbath) - Vocals
  • Jason Newsted (Metallica, Voivod, Flotsam And Jetsam) - Bass
  • Nicko McBrain (Iron Maiden) - Drums
  • Jon Lord (Deep Purple) - Keyboards
  • Mikko "Linde" Lindstrm (HIM) - Guitar "Holy Water" recording lineup:
  • Ian Gillan (Deep Purple, Black Sabbath) - Vocals
  • Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath) - Guitar
  • Steve Morris - Guitar
  • Michael Lee Jackson - Guitar
  • Randy Clarke - Drums
  • Rodney Appleby - Bass
  • Jesse O'Brien - Hammond Organ
  • Arshak Sahakyan - Duduk Solo
  • Ara Gevorgyan - Underlying Duduk Intro Music And Keys
  • Submit your story new
    More Whocares news:
    + Ian Gillan & Tony Iommi: 'Whocares' First-Week Sales Revealed General Music News 09/06/2012
    + Tony Iommi, Ian Gillan Release Album Together Upcoming Releases 05/08/2012
    + Gillan & Iommi To Work Together Again Upcoming Releases 08/02/2011
    + WhoCares Supergroup To Release Single In North America Upcoming Releases 04/28/2011
    + New Supergroup? WhoCares General Music News 04/08/2011
    Only "https" links are allowed for pictures,
    otherwise they won't appear