AC/DC To Release First Live Album In 20 Years In November

The album, which is titled "AC/DC Live At River Plate", was recorded in Argentina at the River Plate Stadium in Buenos Aires' in December 2009.

Ultimate Guitar

AC/DC have announced that they will be releasing their first live album in 20 years in November.

The album, which is titled "AC/DC Live At River Plate", was recorded in Argentina at the River Plate Stadium in Buenos Aires' in December 2009. The band played to nearly 200,000 people over the course of the three nights they played at the stadium.

The 19-track collection was previously released as a live DVD in May last year, but will now be made available as a live album on November 19. It will be released as a two-disc CD and a three-disc red vinyl package, featuring multiple album covers and a special 24-page booklet.

It is the band's first full-length live album since 1992's "AC/DC Live". They released two live discs in 1997 as part of their "Bonfire" boxset, but this is the first stand-alone live release since "AC/DC Live".

AC/DC have said recently that their new studio album is at least "a year or two away".

The Australian stadium rockers released their 15th studio album "Black Ice" in 2008 and their frontman Brian Johnson had previously said that they are keen to start work on the follow-up, even hinting it could be released in 2013.

However guitarist Malcolm Young denied it would be released that soon, saying: "You know what Brian's [Johnson] like. He just says things and then walks away. It'll be a little while a year or two anyway. I've been doing some jamming on some song ideas but I do that all the time, as do the rest of the band".

He continued: "We are still working. But we had a long rest between "Stiff Upper Lip" and "Black Ice", so I think we need a couple of years to recuperate and work on it a bit more".

The tracklisting for "AC/DC Live At River Plate" is as follows:

01. Rock N Roll Train 02. Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be 03. Back In Black 04. Big Jack 05. Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap 06. Shot Down In Flames 07. Thunderstruck 08. Black Ice 09. The Jack 10. Hells Bells 11. Shoot To Thrill 12. War Machine 13. Dog Eat Dog 14. You Shook Me All Night Long 15. T.N.T. 16. Whole Lotta Rosie 17. Let There Be Rock 18. Highway To Hell 19. For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)

Thanks to NME for the report.

10 comments sorted by best / new / date

comments policy
    Kinda old news now, was released last year...
    Rob E
    DVD was released last year...this is the CD and Vinyl release. I thought the dvd was amazing, and even the split screen bits didn't bother me at all. I shall definitely be buying this when it comes out.
    Their live recording are nothing compared to the power of their live shows, but they are amazing reminders of what it is like to see them. I can't wait for their next tour!