Bad Brains 7 'Build A Nation' Box Set Due Next Week

Bad Brains have announced plans to release a box set version of their latest album, "Build a Nation".

Ultimate Guitar

On April 1, Bad Brains will release a 7" "Build a Nation" box set that includes the following:

  • Three 7" discs in red, green and yellow
  • One 7" picture disc
  • One 18" x 24" poster
  • Tracks: Full 15 tracks from "Build A Nation" album
  • Bonus Track: "Married Again"

    You can pre-order the box set here.

    Bad Brains will embark on a tour of South America in April.

    Tour dates are as follows:

    04/09 - Sao Paulo, Brasil @ The Clash 04/11 - Recife, Brasil @ Abril pro Rock 04/12 - Sao Paulo, Brasil @ The Clash 04/13 - Cutiriba, Brasil @ Helloch 04/15 - Santiago, Chile @ Teatro Novedades 04/16 - Buenos Aires, Argentina @ Niceto

    The first video off the new Bad Brains album, "Build a Nation", can be viewed here.

    System Of A Down bassist Shavo Odadjian directed the effort, which is a video combination of two songs, "Give Thanks And Praises" and "Jah Love". Shot at the Sasquatch Festival and also Portland Oregon by famed cinematographer Danny Hiele (U2, Green Day, Kanye West), the concept captures and merges punk and reggae. Thus the main punk video, "Give Thanks and Praises", is seen merging into the dub reggae of "Jah Love". It's a concept Shavo felt did justice to the band as being innovators of punk rock.

    "I really wanted to respect this band and bring out and capture what they are about, which is a certain intensity...yet also bringing out all sides of the band," he said. "So, the brutal fury of the first video merges into this beautiful dub song. It is some of the most stunning cinematography from DP Danny Hiele I have ever seen. Glorious film style."

    "Build A Nation" was released on June 26, 2007 via Megaforce Records. The group's first proper studio CD in over a decade features all the original members: HR, Darryl Jenifer, Dr. Know and Earl Hudson.

    Produced by longtime fan, Adam Yauch of the Beastie Boys, "Build A Nation" is a return to form for the band that helped define American punk and hardcore music. It also represents the first studio album, outside Beastie Boys albums, to be recorded at the Beastie Boys' "Oscilloscope" laboratories and studio compound in New York City.

    Thanks for the report to

  • 2 comments sorted by best / new / date

      One of the best harcore punk bands out there, but they should do a box set that includes all their older material as well.