Dave Lombardo's Philm Releasing New Album 'Fire From the Evening Sun' This September

Furthermore, band is already working on another third studio record. More inside.

Ultimate Guitar

Following a string of unofficial announcements, Philm are set to release their sophomore studio record "Fire From the Evening Sun" on September 16 via UDR.

The band, featuring ex-Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo, guitarist/vocalist Gerry Paul Nestler of Civil Defiance, and bassist Francisco "Pancho" Eduardo Tomaselli of War, has initially expressed hope to have the effort out around July, but the label pursuit seemingly took a bit longer.

Described as "powerful, intense, urgent" by UDR's head of A&R and marketing Jay Lansford, the fresh material was also dubbed "refreshingly not mundane, but ear-shattering and groundbreaking."

"'Harmonic' [the group's debut album] is still an amazing work to me," Lombardo stated. "It's improvisational and raw. It was my first time producing an album and I am very proud of it. The new album is a completely different animal. It is again produced by me, but mastered and mixed by a couple of musical giants - Tyler Bates and Robert Carranza.

"I believe this album has a daring, callous temperament about it that really sums up our mindset right now. No improvising, no fluff. It's heavy and in your face from start to finish. You may think you know what Philm is, but you don't. If you haven't seen us live, you have no idea. We thrive on being out of our comfort zones and want fans to take that ride," the drummer added (via Blabbermouth).

Being a prolific trio, the group has already kicked off creative sessions for their third studio effort. "We have about five songs that are still in their skeletal form without vocals yet and are much heavier," Dave told CV Weekly. "And I've added double bass on the third album, which I didn't do on the first two. I'm kind of rediscovering myself and reinventing myself. That album is a whole different direction."

Back to the second record, check out the cover artwork and track listing below.

"Fire From the Evening Sun" track listing:

01. Train
02. Fire From the Evening Sun
03. Lady of the Lake
04. Lion's Pit
05. Silver Queen
06. We Sail at Dawn
07. Omniscience
08. Fanboy
09. Luxhaven
10. Blue Dragon11. Turn in the Sky12. Corner Girl

3 comments sorted by best / new / date

    I liked their first album Harmonic. The solos and compositions were really interesting especially the 2nd half of that album they really start to jam. I'm feeling pretty good about this one.