Exodus Announce Gorillaz Collaboration for New Album

artist: Exodus date: 09/04/2014 category: upcoming releases

Sign up to get weekly digest with top stories from UG. Ads free, only news.

Thanks for subscribing! Check your email soon for some great stories from UG

I like this
votes: 21
views: 6,167
Exodus Announce Gorillaz Collaboration for New Album
Thrash masters Exodus have announced a seemingly odd collaboration on their upcoming album "Blood In, Blood Out."

As the official release reads, the band has teamed up with electronica producer Dan the Automator, known for his work with Gorillaz, Mike Patton and Deltron 3030.

Specifically, Dan was in charge for "crafting an industrial sound bed on the intro to the album opener 'Black 13.'"

Furthermore, Testament vocalist Chuck Billy is also making a guest appearance, lending his "signature roar" for the "BTK" track. As reported, Metallica guitarist and Exodus co-founder Kirk Hammett rounds up the guest list by tracking a solo for "Salt the Wound."

"This was actually the first time Kirk got to play on an official Exodus release," guitar mastermind Gary Holt noted. "He did the early demo, and then joined Metallica and didn't do anything with us after that. So he was totally gung-ho about it. He came down and ripped out a bunch of takes and we picked the best one and then had a barbecue and drank beer."

So that's pretty much it when it comes to album details. Front cover, track listing, and October 14 release date were already confirmed, so now it's just a matter of patiently waiting. There might be a lead single announcement along the way, though.

More old info - "Blood In, Blood Out" marks the return of Steve Souza on vocals and his first studio record with the band since 2004's "Tempo of the Damned."

And speaking of Steve, here's how he described the fresh material: "I'm gonna tell you right now, 'Blood In, Blood Out' is the best Exodus record by far. And I'm not saying that 'cause I just rejoined. Honestly, the musicianship of everyone in it, the writing, the lyrics, the lyrical content... everything all the way through. 11 killers, no fillers. I swear to God, and I mean it."

So cover here, track listing below. Excited?

"Blood In, Blood Out" Track Listing

1. Black 13
2. Blood In, Blood Out
3. Collateral Damage
4. Salt the Wound
5. Body Harvest
6. BTK
7. Wrapped in the Arms of Rage
8. My Last Nerve
9. Numb
10. Honor Killings
11. Food for the Worms
Submit your story new
More Exodus news:
+ Former Singer Rob Dukes Slams 'Douchebags' Exodus, Says Leaving Band Was 'Like Cutting Out a Cancer' General Music News 11/02/2015
+ Exodus Fan Sues Over Lyric Arrest WTF? 05/05/2015
+ Gary Holt Says He Took Exodus in a 'More Violent Direction' Following Kirk Hammett's Departure General Music News 03/24/2015
+ Gary Holt: Kirk Hammett Taught Me How to Play Guitar General Music News 03/17/2015
+ Exodus Holt Slams 'Paranoid Society' Over Fan Arrest General Music News 10/28/2014
+ Exodus Unleash Old-School New Video 'Blood In, Blood Out' General Music News 10/27/2014
+ view all
Only "https" links are allowed for pictures,
otherwise they won't appear