Gerard Way Announces Solo Album Details

artist: Gerard Way date: 07/31/2014 category: new releases
I like this
votes: 34
views: 5,371
Gerard Way Announces Solo Album Details
Gerard Way has announced details of his debut solo album "Hesitant Alien," NME reports.

The album will be released on September 29 and will be available to pre-order from August 19. Fans who pre-order the album will receive the tracks "Action Cat" and "No Shows" instantly.

Way states that the album is inspired by bands such as Pulp, Blur and Sleater-Kinney. "My intention was to make 100 percent uncompromised art, using the currently least radio-friendly instrument, the guitar. I knew there would be lots of fuzz pedals. I knew I would play Fender instruments. I knew I would look at who my guitar heroes were in art school, Mary Timony and Carrie Brownstein, and I drew a lot of influence from shoegaze and Britpop. I want the record to sonically galvanize people.

"I looked to the Britpop poets like Jarvis Cocker and Damon Albarn, drawing upon everyday life. I also experimented with the abstract, and looked at Frank Black's work both with the Pixies, and as a solo artist. There was no concept and no call-to-arms."

The "Hesitant Alien" tracklist:

01. Bureau
02. Action Cat
03. No Shows
04. Casting Shadows
05. Millions
06. Zero Zero
07. Juarez
08. Drugstore Perfume
09. Get the Gang Together
10. How's It Going to Be
11. Maya the Psychic

Way will play his first ever solo shows at this year's Reading and Leeds Festivals in August.
Submit your story new
Only "https" links are allowed for pictures,
otherwise they won't appear