James Durbin: Debut Album Details Released

James Durbin is ready to go for the November 21 release of his debut album, "Memories Of A Beautiful Disaster."

Ultimate Guitar

James Durbin is ready to go for the November 21 release of his debut album, "Memories Of A Beautiful Disaster."

On Wednesday, the American Idol rocker released details about the project, including confirmation of the first two singles: the anthemic "Stand Up" will go to rock radio and the power-charged "Love Me Bad" will hit Top 40 radio.

Unforgettable performances on the Idol stage with legends such as Judas Priest and Zakk Wylde led Durbin's own "Idols" to support the rocker's first ever release. Mick Mars of Mtley Cre, songwriters James Michael (Sixx: A.M., Mtley Cre) and Marti Frederiksen (Aerosmith, Buckcherry, Ozzy Osbourne), along with Swedish rock band Hardcore Superstar.

Durbin, who co-wrote five of the albums tracks exclaimed it was "surreal" to be working with this bevy of rock royalty and recalls, "When Mick Mars started shredding on his guitar I literally lost my mind." The long-time Mtley Cre fan continued saying, "He's a true rock legend and he's playing on my record. It doesn't get any cooler than that."

Mick Mars echoed the same fervor, "It was sick to have played on James' debut album. To be the only featured guest artist on the record was really cool, as I know a lot of others wanted to be on it. James Durbin kicks ass; he's the real deal."

"Memories Of A Beautiful Disaster" tracklisting:

01. Higher Than Heaven 02. All I Want 03. Love In Ruins 04. Right Behind You 05. Love Me Bad 06. Deeper 07. May 08. Screaming 09. Outcast - feat. Mick Mars 10. Everything Burns 11. Stand Up

Thanks for the report to Hennemusic.com.


6 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Kinda looking forward to it, really like his singing. Although my bias against artists who don't write their own stuff is kinda holding me back,
    He co-wrote 5! I think some people forget that he is starting at the beginning, AI aside. Even some of our favorite groups/artists have some mediocre stuff to begin with, and maybe only one or two stand out songs. Everyone has to start somewhere, if he has to be a little "Pop" to get started, so be it. Nowadays, even the "Metal" groups cannot get the airspace they would like. Of course, he could always stick to "Heavy Metal" in the garage and little cafe's to stay "true" to form!!
    I despise American Idol and all of the cookie-cutter artists it constantly produces... but this guy can f'ing sing...
    Yeah I loves me some James Durbin!!!! Can't get enuf. Love how He sings OMG!,He's sooo Sweet, saw him on Life Changers and He's a giver he's already and has been giving back according to Dr Drew.