King Crimson + Tool Members Join Forces With Avant-Experimentalists to Bring 'Dark, Deviant, Explicit Detective Story'

"It's a NSFW, Rated-R release designed for the open-minded and brave." First single streaming.

Ultimate Guitar

King Crimson drummer Pat Mastelotto has recently announced an exciting collaboration with avant-experimentalists David Kollar and Paolo Raineri in a new band appropriately branded KoMaRa.

The trio has revealed plans to release their self-titled debut album on June 30, featuring cover artwork by Tool guitarist Adam Jones.

"KoMaRa's self-titled debut album is based on a dark, deviant and explicit detective story. It reflects the mysterious circumstances of an abduction and the ultimate demise of the abductee. It's a NSFW, Rated-R release designed for the open-minded and brave," the press release reads.

The record was described as predominantly instrumental, with occasional vocal parts by Raineri, Leashya and Bill Munyon.

Apart from his work with the Crims, Mastelotto is known for collaborating with the likes of Steven Wilson, Terry Bozzio, Trey Gunn, Allan Holdsworth, John Paul Jones, and Kimmo Pohjonen.

David Kollar is a Slovakian guitarist and composer who has released nine albums, scored 18 films and worked on a variety of multimedia projects. Finally, trumpeter Paolo Raineri "combines Scandinavian nu-jazz influences with psychedelic rock, experimental and free improvisation in his award-winning Junkfood 4tet."

"For me, KoMaRa is the epitome of my belief that great records are like movies," Mastelotto stated. "The best musicians don't need scripts because they understand the movie is always evolving. That's the beauty of music, too. It inspires its own script and cinematography in every listener’s head."

Track listing, cover art, and the stream of album opener "Dirty Smelly" are available below, more info at the official website.

'KoMaRa' Track Listing:

1. Dirty Smelly
2. 37 Forms
3. A Collision of Fingerprints
4. She Sat in Black Silt
5. 2CFAC
6. God Has Left This Place
7. Pasquinade
8. Abraso9. Afterbirth10. Inciting Incidents

YouTube preview picture

16 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Am I the only one who seems to have a slight lack of climax with the artwork. Being an animator, I cannot help but see the cover art as just an incomplete Zbrush model waiting to be textured.
    Burnt Ice
    As soon as I saw the artwork I immediately skimmed the comments for anyone who "knows". I'm a 3D artist. I find it interesting that Adam Jones is a Zbrush user. What a sneaky guy though,ha ha, he can't fool everyone but a select minority will indeed immediately recognize the artwork as a doodle that can be quickly created in 1-2 hours. As far as 3D art goes and the production pipeline, yeah, it's extremely incomplete lol. He even left it on the default Red Wax Material and just applied the wireframe view and called it done. I wonder how experienced he is with Zbrush...
    Title is misleading, as no members of Tool are actually involved in a musical sense. Intrigued by this regardless; I had the pleasure of meeting Mastelloto once. He's a chill dude.
    Baby Joel
    I like how they came up with the band name. Simple and memorable.
    Yeah, it's better than HetUlHamBur, or OsIomButWard. The possibilities are endless this way, come to think of it
    Dude just split up the second one into two words. Osiom Butward. Put that shit in a jagged enough font, and it'll be brutal as hell.
    Really like it! Getting some Nine Inch Nails vibes, and that's not a bad thing at all! Definitely gonna check the album out
    Wow, I'm really into this. For some reason, I could see them jamming/touring with Pigface if they were ever able to get together again. Talk about a noisy event!