Mars Volta and Flea's New Band Antemasque Announce Debut Album

artist: The Mars Volta date: 04/16/2014 category: upcoming releases

Sign up to get weekly digest with top stories from UG. Ads free, only news.

Thanks for subscribing! Check your email soon for some great stories from UG

I like this
votes: 7
views: 2,305
Mars Volta and Flea's New Band Antemasque Announce Debut Album
Over the last week, we've been introduced Antemasque, the new project from Mars Volta co-founders Omar Rodriguez-Lopez and Cedric Bixler-Zavala, along with Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea and drummer Dave Elitch. Now, the band has announced its self-titled debut LP, which will be released on July 15th.

In addition, the band has previewed yet another new cut entitled "Drown All Your Witches." It soundtracks a behind the scenes video of Antemasque in the studio. Watch it below (via Rolling Stone).

In an issued statement, Antemasque explained that originally planned to only release "4AM," but decided to offer up more material "because of the amazing response from our fans." They continued, "If the whole thing looked unplanned, that's because it was. The anticipation of what the reaction from fans and critics would be was very real for us with every new song we put out."

"4AM" will be available for digital purchase tomorrow via Omar Rodriguez-Lopez's label Nadie. The first 10,000 orders will receive "Drown All Your Witches" as a free download.

Submit your story new
More The Mars Volta news:
+ Mars Volta Singer Used to Smoke $1,000 of Marijuana Per Week: 'I Needed it for Creativity' Entertainment 06/30/2015
+ Former Mars Volta Guitarist Reveals Bosnian Rainbows Album Details Upcoming Releases 03/28/2013
+ Cedric Bixler-Zavala Reveals Post Mars Volta Solo Album Plans Upcoming Releases 02/06/2013
+ Mars Volta Officially Stream New Album Online Downloads 03/22/2012
+ Hear Mars Volta Album Leak Online Downloads 03/05/2012
+ Stream New Mars Volta Song 'The Malkin Jewel' Online Downloads 02/14/2012
+ view all
Only "https" links are allowed for pictures,
otherwise they won't appear